Very Inspiring Blogger Award — thanks petrel41

very-inspiring-award

My blogging friend petrel41 of the blog Dear Kitty. Some Blog has been kind enough to nominate Get Behind the Muse for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.

Thanks, dear petrel41, for this generous gesture!

 

The rules of this award are:

1. Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.

2. Display the award on your post.

3. List the award rules so your nominees will know what to do.

4. State 7 things about yourself.

5. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award.

6. Contact your nominees to let them know you have nominated them. Provide a link to your post.

7. Proudly display the award logo (or buttons) on your blog, whether on your side bar, ABOUT page, or a special page for awards.

 

Here are seven things about me:

1. I once played the trumpet for the king of Spain. It was 1988, the four-hundredth anniversary of the Spanish Armada, and there was a commemoration ceremony in Spanish Point, Co. Clare, off the coast of which numerous ships had sunk. Little did I know back then that I would end up living among his subjects and using this fact to impress the hell out of them.

2. In my early twenties, I once told a girl that I wanted to be a ghost. (I had drink on me!) What I meant was that, instead of having a life of my own, I wanted to stay on the margins of life like a wraith, listening, observing and later putting it all down on paper. Fortunately (or unfortunately!) I failed in my ghostly ambitions: somehow I got sucked into living to the extent that I have a partner, two kids, a mortgage, a job — the whole shebang.

3. As the cliché goes, I have wanted to be a writer since as far back as I can remember. Being a writer was for me always the ultimate a person could be. Forget about reaching the moon, winning an All-Ireland hurling medal, having a number one record: writers were up there with the gods. I never had the confidence to picture myself as one, however. I did start a novel when I was 18, but it was a one-week wonder. For the guts of the next 20 years I got on with a secondary goal — that of being a scientist — but I still always harboured the nagging ambition to write. It was only after a job interview for the job of a lifetime that I couldn’t accept that I had the “get busy living or get busy dying” moment and decided to finally take pen to paper.

4. With the exception of being lost in the moment at rock concerts, I rarely feel part of anything big. No matter where I am or what I’m doing my default outlook is of a reality split into “me” and “them”. Standing outside the school with the girls waiting for the gates to open in the morning, there is me and there are the other parents. I don’t feel part of their commonality, the de facto club they compose. At work in the cafeteria it’s a similar me-and-them feeling; I cannot seem to bridge some invisible gap between me and my co-workers. It’s been like this for as long as I can remember, which meant I was never a joiner-inner. A lot of my teenage years was spent in ghostly isolation. I guess I’m a born outsider.

5. I am very happy in my own company. My ideal job would involve me, a laptop and an internet connection. One of the most content periods of my life was a three month stretch I spent in near-solitary confinement writing up my Masters.

6. I live my life through music, I see the world through music. I am always singing. I always have a tune in my head. There has never been a time when I haven’t been obsessed with a song, an album or an artist. I’ve just come out of a Cat Power period and am currently having a St. Vincent week. I always worried as a young man that as I got older I would lose my hunger for discovering new sounds and artists and settle for middle-aged MOR AOR. Thankfully, that has not yet happened.

7. I am plagued by the belief that civilisation is winding down, that the physical comforts, equability, human rights, democracy and technology we enjoy at present will not be available to my children or grandchildren. There are so many potential threats to the lifestyle and freedom we have enjoyed for over a century: global warming, overpopulation, peak oil and our to-hell-with-all-the-consequences, consumerist lifestyle, not to mention pandemics, a sudden ice age or war. As you can imagine, I am more than slightly worried about the current situation in the Crimea. There’s definitely a post-apocalypse novel in me somewhere!

 

My nominees are:

1. Irish History Podcast

2. Peak Perspective

3. ¡Hola Yessica!

4. Perception

5. The Girl in the Cat Frame Glasses

6. Midwestern Plants

7. Matthew Richards Photography

8. The Kitchen Ink

9. Sentence First

10.Unpacking my ‘bottom drawer’ in Budapest

11. Shay Healy Blog

12. Irish Election Literature

13. How to be a Mom (and Write a Book)

14. Savvy Writers & e-Books online

15. David Gaughran

 

About ucronin

Born in the country town of Ennis, Co. Clare, Ireland in 1975, I now live in Madrid with my partner and two young daughters and work in a research institute. While I was always a hungry reader and harboured vague notions of being a writer, as a young man writing was the furthest thing from my mind; after leaving school, I did a B.Sc. in Biotechnology in Galway's NUI, an M.Sc. in Plant Science in University College Cork and a Ph.D. in Microbiology in the University of Limerick, the plan being to dedicate my professional career to scientific research. While having written extensively within my technical scientific field, I had never contemplated becoming a writer of fiction until a road-to-Damascus moment on the N69 between Listowel and Tarbert, Co. Kerry in the summer of 2011. Since then, most of my spare time has been occupied with writing. In whatever other free moments I have, I like to listen to music, play the guitar and garden (which here in Madrid means a lot of watering of plants and spraying for red spider mite). My ambition is to become as good a writer as I possibly can, eventually freeing myself from the cold clutches of science and earning a living through my scribblings. The type of writing that excites me is honest, intelligent, well-constructed and richly descriptive.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Very Inspiring Blogger Award — thanks petrel41

  1. Holy cow, I must say that this has got to be one of the most intriguing and captivating blog award reveals I’ve come across. You have a terrific way with words and an outlook on life that is easy to identify with. I truly look forward to your posts and congratulate you on some lovely writing.
    Cheers!

  2. Thanks for the nomination! 😀👌🌠

Leave a Reply

