Moving

Boxing your life away.

Boxing your life away.

I’m in the process of moving house again. Me, the ball and chain, the two young ones and a couple of tons of accumulated junk. Our fourth house in as many years. One international move — Ireland to Spain — and three local ones within the same neighbourhood in Madrid in search of the Perfect Apartment. And all those moves on top of the dozen or so as a single person or as part of a young, childless couple (two changes of country included). I guess you could say I have some experience in the area of relocating. So. Some advice vis à vis the old moving house malarkey; DO NOT DO IT! It’s a living hell! It does not get any easier with age or experience — twenty years later, it’s the same exhausting, back-breaking and hair-greying process as the first day you picked up a cardboard box and packing tape and grimly set about the task of transferring the contents of abode A to abode B.

Ask yourself do you really need to move house. Is a bigger kitchen or living room or a killer view really worth the endless hours of wrapping mugs up in newspaper or wondering whether to “do” the office or the spare room first. Is your new gaff sufficiently expansive/cheap/snazzy/well-placed/well-served/etcetera to justify the month or so of torment and agony either side of D-day (when you hand in the keys of house A and collect those of house B). Because – do not doubt me – torment it is. At this point in time if you offered me the option of a month in solitary confinement or moving house I’d gleefully opt for the former. Tour de France or moving house? Gimme that bike! El Camino barefoot with only a verbally dysenteric Star Trek fanatic as company or moving house? Beam me up Scotty!

Two weeks into house moving as I am right now, the miserable situation in which I find myself has led me to much philosophizing on the human condition. We are, I’ve come to believe, a restless species. Our hunter-gatherer ancestors never stayed in one place too long. They followed herds of animals on their migratory paths, hit the uplands or lowlands depending on the season and whatever fruits or vegetable were available at various times of the year and generally bummed around the great plains and primeval forests as part of a sort of proto-couchsurfing lifestyle (although unlike me, they didn’t have to actually lug a couch from here to yonder). I think modern humans, in spite of how sophisticated and urban we feel ourselves to be, retain much of this wanderlust and maybe we’re hard-wired to succumb that itch to follow those proverbial bison from time to time. Or maybe we’re just stupid or suckers for punishment or addicted to the sound, amplified by a good-quality cardboard box, of that brown tape skeetching out of its roll and sticking itself down.

Or maybe it’s boredom . . . One of my all-time favourite books is Independence Day by Richard Ford. The book, the hero of which is a realtor called Frank Bascome, understandably contains much wisdom about buying and renting properties — and house removals. It is within a section describing Frank’s purchasing of a root beer stall, however, that I find a real insight into what leads human beings to undertake crazy, hare-brained, disruptive and mostly unnecessary schemes like house moving. The root beer stall had originally belonged to retiree, Karl Bermish, who set it up with his lump sum to keep him ticking over post receipt of gold watch. Initially, the stall was a huge success for Karl — until he grew bored with the tried and trusted root beer stand “model”. Elaborate and expensive catering equipment was bought on hire purchase. Side-lines were developed. Root beer and weeners became marginalized, became less and less what the stall was about. Sure, the odd yuppie customer stopped by for a latté and gourmet crepe, but the hardcore root beer clientele drifted away. Karl was running his business into the ground. One night, Frank happens upon the stand, gets talking to Karl and gets the full sob-story about how the banks are breathing down the latter’s neck and that he’s only a few weeks from absolute ruin. Frank takes pity on the older man and decides, there and then, to rescue the stall. He buys into the business as the major partner, puts Karl on the books as an employee and, after a sermon on back to basics, divests the stall of all the bells and whistles that Karl had accumulated as a result of his Frank Bascome-diagnosed boredom. In no time at all the stall is a little gold-mine once again.

So there you have it. Boredom, dissatisfaction, itchy feet — the root of all evil, and possibly why I’m carting cardboard boxes up and down stairs again. At least I didn’t buy a root beer stand!!

 

About ucronin

Born in the country town of Ennis, Co. Clare, Ireland in 1975, I now live in Madrid with my partner and two young daughters and work in a research institute. While I was always a hungry reader and harboured vague notions of being a writer, as a young man writing was the furthest thing from my mind; after leaving school, I did a B.Sc. in Biotechnology in Galway's NUI, an M.Sc. in Plant Science in University College Cork and a Ph.D. in Microbiology in the University of Limerick, the plan being to dedicate my professional career to scientific research. While having written extensively within my technical scientific field, I had never contemplated becoming a writer of fiction until a road-to-Damascus moment on the N69 between Listowel and Tarbert, Co. Kerry in the summer of 2011. Since then, most of my spare time has been occupied with writing. In whatever other free moments I have, I like to listen to music, play the guitar and garden (which here in Madrid means a lot of watering of plants and spraying for red spider mite). My ambition is to become as good a writer as I possibly can, eventually freeing myself from the cold clutches of science and earning a living through my scribblings. The type of writing that excites me is honest, intelligent, well-constructed and richly descriptive.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving

  1. Great post! Sorry I was laughing at your situation… I’ve moved a few large distances in the US, but never international. Some moves we’re awesome, some sucked. I was actually a mover (drove a semi for United Van Lines) for a few years. I would come to your home (for a fee) and pack all of your belongings in less than 2 days. It made for some awkward moments when people didn’t pack their own ‘personal items’ or what I might find under the bed! =-O
    My husband and I’s plan is to retire and drive the US in an RV. We could have a new view out our picture window daily if we want… or not!

    • ucronin says:

      Thanks. I think I’ve had enough of packing and unpacking to ever contemplate being a professional mover. Driving the US in an RV sounds great. I hope it comes true for you.

Leave a Reply

